Cyperna - Moonlight Acquisition

from by RPM Fest



Cyperna is an unmistakenly heavy band hailing from Seymour, CT. With their technical guitar riffs, intensely solid rhythm, and pulse-pounding drums, they seamlessly mold death metal, grind, and thrash to create a modern, visceral and extreme, brand of brutally explosive music.

Formed in late 2010, Cyperna, influenced by bands such as As Blood Runs Black, The Red Chord, and Despised Icon, came together when guitarists Andy Stanislawski and Steve Barrett decided to form a band like no other. After finding drummer Brian Coleman and vocalist JT Stoyak, they began to write some of the most vicious and blistering music to date.

Their self-titled EP was released in February 2011 and they started playing out as relentlessly as they could. The band soon became known in the New England area for their energetic live shows and machine-precision performances. Soon after they started writing again for a full length album. In early 2012, Andy left the band and was replaced by Mike Corredor of Guerra. May 2012 saw the band return to Atrium Audio to begin work on the full length with Grant McFarland again helming the recording duties. In the fall of 2012, Brian moved away leaving the band without a drummer. Shawn Cavenaugh of local instrumetal metal powerhouse Kali Ma decided to fill in as the band searched for a permanent drummer.

Without ever losing any momentum the band was right back at doing what they do best; playing live everywhere they could, turning heads, and gaining fans with each new show. Frin 2012 into 2013 the band juggled between trips to PA to record the album, continuing to write new songs at home, and crushing every stage they could. Cyperna has been all over the Northeast and beyond in their continuing quest to level each room they play, whether it's in front of 50 people or 500. Winter 2013 saw the addition of a full time bass player, Jay Madore (Kali Ma), and Shawn became a permanent member, and their sound was finally complete.


from RPM Fest 2016 Compilation, released May 21, 2016
JT Stoyak - Vocals
Steve Barrett - Guitar
Mike Pinto - Guitar
Jay Madore - Bass
Shawn Cavanaugh - Drums



all rights reserved


RPM Fest Greenfield, Massachusetts

contact / help

Contact RPM Fest

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code